A Super Weekend and another Shock!!!!

Would you like a dessert!

Would you like a dessert!

So we’re back from our annual pilgrimage to London to watch the Challenge Cup final, it was like a home from home, an all  Yorkshire final. It was hard to decide who we wanted to win, both teams are huge rivals of our own team, Wakefield Trinity. In the end we opted for Castleford, it was the wrong choice – the Rhinos won. Still it was a great weekend, we saw some great sights and some not so great. Never have I seen so many over stretched rugby shirts in one place. Lets just say one team must only sell a one-size-fits-all-shirt and leave it at that.

To be fair the rugby fans weren’t the only ones poured into their clothing, the waitress in our hotel seemed to be suffering from the same fate, maybe that’s why she had the strangest of smiles plastered over her face, she was a dead ringer for Peter Kay’s ‘Geraldine’ and unfortunately, much to the amusement of Jack and I, she took a real shine to my hubby!! He got one of her ‘best’ smiles every time she passed and when she crouched (squatted) down at the side of him and scared him half to death to ask “would you like a dessert?” I failed at keeping a straight face. Needless to say we spent the rest of the weekend avoiding ‘Geraldine!’

Having finally come back down to earth after my maths results last week, today brought even more good news. You may remember me mentioning spending the best part of a week trying to write a personal statement  (more like four days gawping at a blank piece of paper and one day writing -but you get the idea!) Anyway, the whole point of the statement was to try to justify me being accepted onto a part-time degree course without any prior  higher-level education, it worked. I’m back in shock -again!! University, at my age!! Still,why not? I’ve spent years putting everything and everyone before me and my family. Now its time for me to do what’s right for us -I can’t wait!!

A great weekend

great news

Bring it on

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

