Lost………Maybe Not!!!

I was alone, darkness was falling, I didn’t know where I was. How was I ever going to get home……….

So I had planned a run or cycle today, however my niggle free knee started to niggle. All because I caught my foot in my PJ bottoms (that’s what you get for buying a size too big cos they were cheap in the sale!!) as I carried the morning coffee/tea upstairs. Thankfully, and god knows how, I only spilt a little bit and squashed my Jaffa cakes, but other than that all was well until I started up the next staircase and felt a twinge. Plan B!

With the men in my life heading out to the rugby I decided on a walk, and thanks to an email last night asking about a railway relic I had photographed I decided to go back for another look -big mistake. Don’t get me wrong it was a lovely walk and a much longer walk than my gps would have you believe, but maybe not setting off until two wasn’t the best of ideas ,especially when I realised there was a building site through the middle of where I walk. Seemingly (so a nice lady dogwalker told me) they are replacing the old pit stacks, which they have discovered are poisonous ,with nice clean, non poisonous soil. Poisonous -eek. Jack and I have had life climbing up and down there -whoops.

The building site, threw me off track literally. I couldn’t find where I wanted to go, then when I did find it I couldn’t find my way back – I was starting to panic, but more because I didn’t want the chicken I’d left roasting to be overcooked than anything else -though I must confess it was a tad scary!!

Still, those regular readers of my blog will know that as good as I am at getting lost, I am also just as good at finding my way back. Today was no different and typically, having climbed muddy bankings and squelched my way through clay, dodgy soil and other things I came out on a path that would have taken me straight there. I would have been better running or cycling, it would have been easier on the knee.

By four o clock ish, I was nearly back at the car, and after a chat with some fishermen, who had been sat on the canal side for over eight hours (are they mad!) I headed home, caked in mud and clay. I certainly got some strange looks when I called in Tesco’s on the way home. I got some even stranger looks when I walked back in again five minutes later. You see I bought my loaf of bread and headed home, it was only when I went to get my house key out did I realise it was in the car -still parked at Tesco’s. I’d forgotten I’d gone in it and walked home -good job it’s only at the bottom of the street -what a Wally!!

Time lost -half an hour. Time walking -two hours

Three miles done, a few photos taken

Bring it on

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

