It’s an Open Air Gym…….so Why Don’t People Use It?

A Great Idea...

A Great Idea

So we were cycling along the canal path this morning (times are changing -hubby getting up on a Bank Holiday!) when I saw something that got me thinking -hard to believe I know!! Anyway, as we got to one of the locks a British Waterways van (except it’s not British Waterways anymore but you get the idea) was parked there and on the side it had the slogan, ‘It’s an open air Gym’ complete with photos of people running along side the canal. (See pic). What a brilliant idea and so true. In fact I’m surrounded by this ‘Open Air Gym’ idea. Woodland walks, canals, reservoirs, even the remains of a castle and before you ask I don’t live out in the sticks, I live in a city. A city that has currently got one of the fastest growing rates of obesity in the country -makes you think. (That’s twice in one day). In reality getting fit costs nothing, you just put one foot in front of the other and head out of the door -simple. No need for a gym membership, just a good pair of trainers. So why aren’t the NHS making the most of whats on offer and encouraging people to get out there and use it……..just saying!

Still, it was a great cycle ride, lots of sunshine and loads of boating enthusiasts splashing about on the water -anyone remember the corny song from the Hoseasons advert -it was just like that. The only downside was the ‘fanny path’, you know the kind I mean -up,down,up,down and no amount of padding does anything to save your lady bits -still no pain, no gain, though I’m not too sure what I’m gaining.

Another 13 miles cycled.

D-day tomorrow I’m off to see the surgeon.

Bring it on

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. deetsman
    May 27, 2013 @ 22:52:36

    I couldn’t agree more about the open air gym idea, It has to be particularly tragic weather to get me exercising indoors. One of my regular evening training rides takes me past a traffic jam of people driving to the gym to run on treadmills and pedal on exercise bikes…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

