Oh My Thigh Bone is Rubbing on My Shin Bone My Shin Bone is Rubbing on My……You get the idea!!

Well on the plus side I’m fit and healthy, I have a family I love, a job I really like and although things have been toughsore-knee at times, compared to some life’s pretty good. Come this time next year there’s every chance I’ll be back pounding the pavements, whether I get back out there this year remains to be seen.

Yep  -today was D-Day at the Doctors. It’s been marked on the calendar for weeks, by the time I got to the surgery I felt physically sick. You would have thought I was about to be told how long I had left to live,not what was up with my dodgy knee. It’s probably a runner thing and possibly a thing that only other runners will understand but the thought of never running again fills me with dread. I haven’t run now (well apart from the odd sneaky go on a treadmill) since the beginning of January and it has been like mental torture -I look longingly at runners as I drive by and despair when I see people moaning on social media about not getting PB’s -at least they can run. Thankfully I’ve had Boris my trusty bike to keep me almost sane -but a 14 mile cycle doesn’t give me the buzz of a run -well it’s going to have to do for now.

So just what was the outcome, well I didn’t lay down, stamp my feet and sob hysterically but it’s fair to say I wasn’t amused. Seemingly I have a tear in my articular cartilage, inflammation under my knee cap that is in the wrong place -, although I knew that bit anyway and due to an old injury my thigh bone is rubbing on my shin bone (isn’t that a song) hence the awful noise my knee makes -still it could have been worse……

Now I’ve got to go see the surgeon and see what he wants to do, Shave my thigh bone, trim my cartilage, wash my knee out or all three -another six week wait. The doctor has his head in his hands when I left -all I asked was can I run in the meantime -if it’s knackered anyway whats a few more miles going to do…………….

Looking on the Brightside

I’ll be back fitter and faster

Bring it on!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. marylouharris
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 22:03:52

    Great attitude. I’m in a similar situation – haven’t run since 2/19 – my longest time off the road since I can remember. So looking forward to getting back out there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

