There’s Snow Way to get Warm……

Well I certainly didn’t get it wrong when I said that come Mothers Day I’d be freezing my wotsits off at the side of a rugby pitch -I’m still trying to get the circulation back some 24 hours later.It didn’t help that we hadn’t thawed out from the first rugby game before we headed to the second -it’s a good job I’m an out-door-kinda girl.

The warning signs of what was to come were there on Saturday, it was damp and cold with a sneaky wind (as my mum used to call it!!) which probably explains why the Hepworth (Art Gallery) was so full. The trouble is, not only was it full but it was clearly weirdo day -my brother and I had definitely picked the wrong day to take in the new(ish) exhibition. I thought the woman dressed as Zorro worked there but no she was just weirdo number one.There was a woman in a full on chiffon type flowing pantaloons thing (can you tell I can’t tell what she was wearing?) and I’ve never seen so many light coloured trousers, rain coats and shoulder length hair in one room (that was just the men). To be honest they kind of fitted in, some of the stuff on display was kind of weird too. Art is what you make of it but there were a couple of pieces that I couldn’t make my mind up whether they were art or something the workmen had left behind -using industrial step ladders is a new one on me. Still there were some amazing photos on show and I’m glad I went but thank god I didn’t have Jack with me -he really would have had good reason to say ‘what the chuffs that?’

So back to the rugby, as we crossed the Pennines for Jack’s game in Oldham, the snow had already fallen -lots of it. We were beginning to think it was a wasted journey -thankfully not. But boy was it cold -I had so many layers on I couldn’t move and I still shivered. But it was a great game against a very welcoming club and it will be great to play them again sometime -somewhere else where it’s not so flaming cold -Summer Rugby!!!

I wish I could say today had been warmer……..it hasn’t. What possesed me to go on my bike this morning I’ll never know (well actually I do -having got on the scales this morning I am now officially bordering on being a fat chuffer -I’m going to have to do something until I get back running!) By the time I got to work I looked like I’d had botox, my face was so frozen I couldn’t crack a smile. But coming home made this mornings efforts seem like a breeze -it was the breeze that was the problem. It was less breeze more icy howling gale -not what you need when pedalling down the riverside. And so another cycling first -the first time I’ve been blown off my bike. I knew I should have got off and walked, I knew round about the time my earlobe was touching the ground -such was the angle I was leaning at…..too late! Apparently mud is really good for the face………

So another week begins and  ‘quelle surprise’ the calendar is full -just for a change, and between the rugby games, gym , swimming and my ‘mum’ job there’s the small matter of a ‘Dance Act’ to sort. They arrive at our school on Friday and I hope the kids like them it’s been a right job getting them here!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u3l_srH5wTI

 

I’t can’t stay cold forever

Spring is nearly here

Bring it on

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

