Motorway Swimming……………Maybe Not!!!

poolpicSo while others celebrated the finish of Janathon with a glass of wine, pizza or chocolate I celebrated by getting up at six this morning to go for a swim. Well, to be honest it was more about seeing whether I would have time to fit an early morning swim before work more than anything else, but might as well make it look like I’m a total fitness freak. Yes with Jack off school (inset day) I had a test run to see if I can get there, swim and back before 7am -I can, just. Although I didn’t have time to straighten my hair properly so it was also a test to see if ‘Frizz Ease’ does all it claims to do -it didn’t do bad -for once I didn’t look like ‘Crystal Tips’!!

It’s the first time I’ve done the early morning lane swimming thing -it was a bit of an eye opener really, I didn’t realise there was so much etiquette involved. I expected a slow and a fast lane -I didn’t expect a middle lane, it was like being on the M1. It’s also a good job that there were arrows pointing the direction you swim in, slow lane -clockwise, middle lane -anti -clockwise, fast lane -up and down. I find clockwise and anti-clockwise as confusing as left and right!!  I opted for the middle lane, I’m not slow and judging by the speed of the ‘Man from Atlantis’ powering up the fast lane I’m not quick. So I joined the lone swimmer in the middle lane, in no time at all I overtook him -big mistake. Seemingly you can only over take in the slow lane. Or so the lifeguard told me after lone swimmer man complained about my overtaking. I couldn’t believe it -he was going that slow that I doggy paddled past him. Perhaps you’d like to move to the fast lane lifeguard man suggested. Do I look like Rebecca Adlington………………

A lovely morning swim

I’ll stick to the rules next time (not)

Bring it on

 

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

