It’s not How You start it’s How You Finish…….

The Finished Product

The Finished Product

Well I did as promised and headed into Wakefield to try to finish the crimbo shopping -I failed, but more because I forgot rather than couldn’t find a few things. I knew I should have made a list! I took advantage of the nice weather and walked into town -it was a lovely walk and yet another of those times I wished I’d taken my camera. But then I would have never got any shopping done. It wasn’t the view that made me long for my camera -spectacular as it was but the remnants of the night before laying on the pavement for all to see – the half drunk bottles,empty glasses and a random ‘Banana Man’ costume – someone must have had a great night and a cold walk home!!

It’s been a day of finishing things off really,the ironing (thanks hubby) the housework and Jack’s english and art homework. I hope they don’t get any for the crimbo holidays  -we all need a rest. I think he’s quite enjoyed his English – not that he’d ever admit it, but ‘write your own ‘Mr Men’ story has definitely grabbed his attention. So now we have a new version ‘Mr Punch’ a nasty little fellow who goes round…….you’ve guessed it -punching everyone, that is until the other little Mr Men show him the error of his ways -sorted!! Then there was his Art – do your own version of M C Esher (never heard of him – actually I had once I looked at his stuff! ) taking into account his use of doors, arches and staircases. Doddle -maybe not! ! Jack knew what he wanted to do -build it in lego – great idea -until we realised how long it was going to take. We’ve improvised -it’s been like a Blue Peter Project (Kids programme for those not living in the UK) in our front room for the last 3 weeks, all I can say is thank god Ernie’s better at arty stuff than me -I just like looking!! Anyway with a little help with the tricky bits (a-hem) it’s finished. I hope Jack gets a good grade or his Dad will cry!!

Nearly finished what we started

Back to work tomorrow

Bring it on

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. happyday2day
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 20:25:06

    OMG!! that project is fantasticwell done to the dad/son team lol!…… my mum has a book somewhere of Escher’s stuff….love it!! 🙂

    Reply

    • jacksmumontherun
      Dec 16, 2012 @ 20:59:34

      It was a bit like the Artist and his apprentice …… Jack had the Arty Idea and his Dad had to create it! Great team effort though – hope his art teacher appreciates it!!

      Reply

  2. happyday2day
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 18:36:08

    …i’ll be looking out for the opening of their future ‘gallery of creations’ in Leeds LOL!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

