Hey Good Looking……………

Looking Good!

Well it’s not every day you get a nice young doctor call you good-looking – alas he was talking about my knee-joint not me! Yep I finally bit the bullet (couldn’t stand the pain anymore to be honest) and headed to the local A & E department, ever hopeful that they wouldn’t utter the ‘no running’ words.

So I explained to Doc what had happened to my already niggly knee on Tuesday (something went twang when I was driving) and he seemed genuinely interested, they usually don’t want to know if there’s any chance it’s sport related. Anyway he prodded my knee this way and that and bar swinging me round by the ankles there wasn’t much more he could have done. He looked on in utter disbelief when in answer to his question ‘have you rested it since Tuesday?’ I replied ‘yes, apart from a 6 mile run and cycling to work and back’ Well I couldn’t drive – my knee hurts!! He didn’t have to laugh so loudly though when I explained the bruising on my other leg was from falling of my bike!!

So Doc explained that there was every chance I had a floater in my knee (surely not – oh wrong sort of floater!) often runners get bits of bones that chip off – nice. So off I went to X-ray. Trouble is when ever I go for an X-ray all I can think of is Peter Kay and his joke about the radiologists running out of the room. So the nice lady is telling me to keep my leg still and I’m trying to stop the hysterical laughter.

Back in A&E and Doc gave me the good news that I had no floaters (!) but a very good-looking knee-joint. Ooo does that mean I can start running again I asked – Doc’s turn for hysterical laughter and something about obsessive runners – don’t know what he means! Anyway to cut a long story short Doc thinks I’ve either runners knee (well you can’t run without em!) or a condition called chondromalacia or something so now I need a scan and need to avoid high impact exercise. Good news is I can cross -train. Anyone else think Doc may have uttered the wrong two words ………….

A complete day of rest (!)

Cross-training tomorrow

Bring it On

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

