A Knocked Knee and Vibration White Finger……………………

So as the fiasco that is Yorkshire Junior Rugby continues the attention today moved to school rugby – nearly as much of a fiasco if I’m honest. We never seem to know whats happening till it’s too late. Today was the first game of year 8 and how many times have the school team trained together this term – they haven’t. But then again if todays result is anything to go by they don’t need to – they won 62-4. The quality of rugby is a world away from what we are used to on a weekend but then so are the stress levels  nice not to stand there feeling a nervous wreck. Sadly some parents(well at least one!) think School rugby and league rugby should be played at the same level and carry on to such an extent at the side of the pitch that they are now banned!! So how did said parent overcome this predicament – he hid in the bushes at the side of the school field, complete with camouflage coat -we only spotted him when he rang to say where he was and even then it was only the glint of his binoculars and haze of cig  smoke that gave him away!!

With the school rugby done it was time to head to ‘real rugby’ training. Sadly Jack couldn’t go – well I wouldn’t let him go. He’d taken a knock in the school game and had one knee cap twice the size of the other – I’ll just watch he said. Yea right,soon as I set off running he’d be on the pitch training – I’m not that daft!  So I left him sat with a bag of peas (garden not mushy) on his knee and told him to rest. It’s nearly back to normal size now.

So I went up to training without him so I could run with my mate, its was a fab run but you can definitely feel the change in temperature. So much so that our ‘Vibration White Finger’ syndrome is back! Yep my hand was fine while I was running, by the time I drove home I couldn’t feel my it.It tock half an hour in a hot bath for the feeling to come back. Why oh why I get it god only knows but I’m not a rarity because my mate gets it too. Time to get the gloves back out.

Rugby game won and run done

Off to report the dodgy bloke in the bushes

Bring it On

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

