Lost in a Musical Melody……………

The last strains of ‘I Dreamed a Dream’ finished, I raised my arms and was engulfed in rapturous applause from the audience. Amazing – except for just one thing or maybe two. Firstly, I know many a song from a musical, I know how to sing them what expressions to make, how to use my arms for added effect and how to change the tone of my voice – sadly I can’t sing a note in tune- if only! Secondly, I wasn’t on stage – I’d done it again. Engrossed in a musical melody i’d completely forgotten where I was and found myself flinging my arms in the air while running down Oakenshaw Lane – another of my ‘101 ways to look a tit’ while out running moves- whoops. You see in my head I am a musical star – a tone-deaf one. Sadly the people I pass when out running don’t seem to share my enthusiasm – or like the sound of my voice!!Still there’s nowt like a good sing a long , even an out of tune one, to pass seven miles!

To be honest my iPod playlist is pretty embarrassing, mixed in with the Killers,Keane Kylie and dare I say S Club 7 is a who’s who of West end musicals – from Elaine Paige to Alain Boublil – I’ve got the lot!  I’ve always loved musicals and song and dance – not really sure where it came from. While my mates were all reading Jackie I was reading Fred Astaire’s biography  and while my friends were all buying chart music I was taping ‘songs from the shows’ LP’s loaned from the music library (right saddo) Still without my playlist I probably wouldn’t get round some of my runs – I just need to remember where I am.

7.1 miles run in 1:04:39

Number of people that laughed at my dodgy singing…….

Bring it on

 

 

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

