Planes, Trains and Automobiles……..Oh and a FlyMo!

Well to be honest it was more bikes, cars and helicopters than Planes, trains and automobiles but that would have been a crap title – but all in all it’s been one of the most bizarre Saturdays we’ve had in while.

The morning started with Hubby diving out of bed to go out to play on his new bike – I know, I know he already had a perfectly good bike (see link to previous blog) but that was the problem it was too good to be let out of the cellar. So the bubble wrap bike is now up for sale and we’ve now got two more bikes in the house – one for off-road and one for on (!) I have one bike that does both and was a fraction of the cost but……………..Boy’s and their toys!!!https://jacksmumontherun.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=271&action=edit

Anyway this new toy meant he came back a happy boy (well middle-aged dude!) this morning. The off-road route I sent him on meant he had loads of fun – so much fun that we’re off to do it together tomorrow morning (we’re child free) not on the same bike – I’m not having a crog on a mountain bike thank you very much!!! Talking of mountain bikes – did you see them loonies in the Olympics today and I thought the BMX  lot were mental!!

So biking done we nipped out to do a few jobs and ended up buying a car. Don’t get me wrong one of the jobs on our list was to go looking at cars – but not buy one. It’s a bit of a saga to be honest but to shorten it for you……….Once upon a time I had a lovely car,Colin the Corsa. Colin was getting on a bit so Hubby sold him and bought Peter the Peugeot – nasty Peter. I hated him! A few weeks ago Colin came back on the market, someone wanted to buy Peter (are you keeping up) so Colin came home!!! Sadly the buyer of Peter changed her mind (boo) and we haven’t sold him yet. On Tuesday Colin left my life for the second time. Naffed off – not kidding. Anyway today we went to look at other options…..Archie the Aygo will be with us on Monday!!!!

As I said earlier, we’re child free at the moment. Jack was due to go paintballing tomorrow for a friend’s birthday but then he was invited to go stay tonight and get this – go for a flight in a helicopter. Eek! OTT birthday 

 I thought but oh no. Birthday boy’s dad flies all the time. ‘Posh People alert’ I thought, but no, down to earth normal people. Granted, my house and garden would fit in their shed, but there was no need for airs and graces – not that I can do airs and graces. I am what I am…………….Bit scary watching your son taking off in a helicopter – even scarier watching your Hubby have a go- he can’t stand on top of the step ladders without feeling giddy!!

So have hubby and I made the most of a child free night. Er, well come on do you really think we were going to go out with the Olympics on – no chance. So we’ve watched Mo Fly, the Jamaicans whoop the Americans (get in) gold in the boxing and after all that Tom Daley’s had to deal with he brought home the bronze – Go Team GB

What a super Saturday

Mountain Biking with the Hubby in the morning

Bring it on

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

