Just for a Change ……….The Olympics!!!

So what a few days it has been and I can honestly say I’ve loved every minute of it. I know that there have been those who have questioned the whole Olympic thing but you only need to go to London and soak up all that’s going on( people are even talking to one another on the tube – unheard of usually) to know it’s gone better than anyone imagined and I’m sure the Paralympics will be just as succesful. Will it inspire a generation – only time will tell, my only hope is that all the facilities that have been built will be put to good use  and not left empty like in other countries. Hopefully the government has now had the kick up the arse it needs and real P.E will be heading back to schools anytime soon – but I won’t go on about P.E it’s a real bug bare of mine – I’ll save it for another blog.

It’s fair to say I’ve watched sports that I’ve never really seen before and I’ve got to say the Female Wendy-ball (football) that I watched at Old Trafford was actually quite good. Don’t get me wrong some of the kicking and heading was a bit, well…..well it was shit. But boy did they lay into one another and I don’t mean’ handbags at ten paces kinda stuff’ they really had a go and there was none of this diving like submarine type stuff that their male counterparts do – well maybe a little bit. Only downside of the whole night was that we opted to cheer for Canada and the flaming Americans won – the ref made sure they did. Cheating in the Olympics – surely not!!  Still it was a brilliant night and from a rugby league girl that truly is a compliment.

Yesterday, after trying every possible option to get in the Olympic Park, we failed. Jack and I headed to Hyde Park to watch some of the day’s action on the big screens – another fab day- the atmosphere was electric. It’s hard to describe really, but everyone laughs and jokes with one another, all talking about how good the Brits are and asking why us in Yorkshire are doing so well – I didn’t gloat – honest!! One of the best bits had to be watching Nicola Adams (another Yorkshire Lass) batter her opponent to get to the finals. Female Boxing – whatever next. Not what I was expecting – they really go for it. Jack was some what bemused – think he was expecting girlie slapping and handbags – but he wore his union Jack Flag ( wore it – it buried him!) with pride and cheered just as loudly a everyone else. Despite his disappointment at failing to get in the Olympic park ( at least he did get to go in when I did my Olympic Park Run – but I think he wanted to see it finished!) he loved the day out and hopefully when he’s older he will be able to look back and say  he was part of it.

Only three days left now – then what will we do? The hunt for Paralympic tickets is on!!

Olympic exhaustion today

Feeling livelier tomorrow

Bring it On

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

