To PB or Not to PB

So race day dawned and was I raring to go after a great nights sleep………………NO. The weatherman had yet again proved to be totally useless with his forecast and got it completely wrong. Did the howling wind die down come midnight, no it flaming well didn’t, it rattled round the attic windows all night, add to that the hammering rain and its fair to say not much sleep was achieved. Such was the strength of the wind that come mid morning hubby had a crisis to deal with. Our guinea pigs 2 up 2 down house did its best impression of Dorothy’s house in the Wizard of Oz and flew off. Thankfully it didn’t land in Kansas, just on the patio. Apparently Fluff and Fluffy, (No I didn’t choose the names) were unharmed and are back safely in their now upright home with the wheely bin holding it in place. I’m surprised hubby bothered to rescue them, they’re not his favourite things!!

So while chaos (slight exaggeration) reigned at home, I headed to my friends house for my lift to York, ever hopeful that it might be less windy there. (York not my friends house!). The drive there was full of the usual positive race talk! Why are we doing this? I think  Ive got cold, my toes hurt, its too windy( too right it was) We’ll never get a PB in this, come 12 o clock it will all be over…………….real uplifting stuff. So we pulled up in the carpark and watched other competitors walking into the wind and just sat there. Gulp, this was not going to be easy. So it was into the Ebor stand we went to get ready, use the toilet countless times and wait for 9:50 to come around. Getting less enthusisastic by the minute.

So as I stood at the start I had already convinced myself that a PB was out of the question and if I could match last years time I’d be more than happy. Then the gun went off and I’m not really sure what came over me, maybe it was the enthusiastic waving of Clare Frisby (look north presenter), who started the race, but I thought ‘go for it’. Don’t know whether it was a help or hinderance but my amazing Nike+ sports watch (never works) had reset itself and was only showing distance covered and average pace. Basically I wasn’t really sure what my time was or if I was on target. It was hard work and the wind was relentless but when I reached the 5 mile mark I felt good and knew I could keep it up and estimated I would match last years time. Come the finish line I stopped my watch and couldn’t believe the time that flashed up. I’d knocked nearly 4 minutes off last years time in awful conditions. Chuffed, too right! Now if I can just improve my time by 38 minutes…………….I might win!!!!!

Half Marathon in 1:55:19 , 111 miles run so far and only nine runs left to do now.

                                                          Janathon Day 23

Bring it on

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. happyday2day
    Jan 22, 2012 @ 20:33:54

    fantastic Dawn well done 🙂 x

    Reply

  2. Lesley Wallace
    Jan 22, 2012 @ 21:19:50

    Well Done! I’d love to be able to do that time!!!

    Reply

  3. fairweatherrunner
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 08:46:29

    Well done on your PB! Your Janathon miles obviously paid off.
    (now if you’re not doing anything in a few weeks I’ve got a HM and am dreaming of a time like that!!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

